The Congressional Accountability Act (CAA) protects over 30,000 employees of the legislative branch. Current employees and job applicants are covered by the CAA. In certain instances, former employees, visitors, and unpaid staff such as interns, detailees and fellows may also be covered.

The CAA applies to the following employers and their employees:

  • U.S. House of Representatives (D.C. & district office staff) 

  • U.S. Senate (D.C. & state office staff) 

  • Office of Congressional Accessibility Services

  • United States Capitol Police

  • Congressional Budget Office 

  • Office of the Architect of the Capitol 

  • Office of Attending Physician 

  • Office of Congressional Workplace Rights

  • The Library of Congress (except for Section 1351)

  • Office of Technology Assessment

  • Stennis Center for Public Service

  • U.S.-China Economic and Security Review Commission

  • Congressional-Executive Commission on China

  • Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe (Helsinki Commission)

  • U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom

Certain provisions of the CAA also apply to the Government Accountability Office and their employees. Certain provisions of the CAA may not apply to every employer and employee of Congress.